Free Jazz

The Point of Departure Contest

This is easy.

Answer the three questions below.

The answers can be found in this issue.

Email the answers to:

Be sure to include your postal address with your entry.

The deadline for entries is November 10, 2008.

Entries with three correct answers will be eligible to win courtesy of Hyena Records:

Soul Progressin'
by Lafayette Gilchrist

Soul Progressin' - Lafayette Gilchrist


Hyena Records

Winners will be drawn on November 11, 2008
Prizes will be delivered by post/mail
Winners will be announced in the next issue.

Question 1: Which artist did not participate in this issue's What's New? Roundtable?
A. Taylor Ho Bynum
B. Mary Halvorson
C. Joe McPhee
D. Barre Phillips

Question 2: Which Chicago saxophonist is not mention in A Fickle Sonance?
A. Von Freeman
B. Franz Jackson
C. Johnny Griffin
D. Gene Ammons

Question 3: Which musician does not have a recording reviewed in this issue's
Moment's Notice?

A. William Parker
B. Seymour Wright
C. Mario Pavone
D. Enrico Rava

The winners of the Issue 18 Free Jazz Contest are:

Jenny Bell (Baltimore, Maryland)
John Braithwaite (Montreal, Canada)
Deborah Skuse (Bristol, UK)

Thanks again to Reel Recordings for the Issue 18 Prizes

Jazz Promo Services

> back to contents