Free Jazz

The Point of Departure Contest

This is easy.

Answer the three questions below.

The answers can be found in this issue.

Email the answers to:

Be sure to include your postal address with your entry.

The deadline for entries is April 10, 2006.

Entries with three correct answers will be eligible
to win one of three autographed copies of
Leroy Jenkins’
The Art of Improvisation
one of three copies of
Revolutionary Ensemble’s
The Psyche

Prizes courtesy of Mutable Music.


Winners will be drawn on April 11, 2006
Prizes will be delivered by post/mail
Winners will be announced in the next issue.

Question 1: Which ensemble did not/does not include Trevor Watts?

A. Spontaneous Music Ensemble
B. Amalgam
C. The Jazz Couriers
D. Moire Music Drum Orchestra

Question 2: Which musician is not a member of Leroy Jenkins’ Driftwood?

A. Denman Maroney
B. Rich O’Donnell
C. Ikue Mori
D. Min Xiao-Fen

Question 3: Which pair of musicians played on Andrew Hill’s early Blue Note recordings?

A. Paul Chambers and Jimmy Cobb
B. Reggie Workman and Billy Higgins
C. Richard Davis and Elvin Jones
D. Henry Grimes and Andrew Cyrille

The winners of the Free Jazz contest in Issue 3 are:

Brian Hoogerwerf (Olney, Maryland)
John Sutherland (Thunder Bay, Ontario)
Asher Thal-Nir (Somerville, Massachuetts)

Thanks again to Mosaic Records for supplying the Issue 3 contest prizes.




> back to contents